Awards for Dedication

The Everglades Coalition has presented awards to individuals for their efforts to protect and restore the Everglades for many years. In 1996, the Coalition began presenting annual awards in recognition of individuals who made outstanding contributions on behalf of the Everglades and confers these awards on individuals who mirror the ideals and accomplishments of the award namesake.

The George M. Barley Conservationist of the Year Award and the James D. Webb Public Service Award have been presented since 1996. Since 1999, the John V. Kabler Award has been presented for grassroots activism. In 2003, the Coalition created a Hall of Fame, which recognizes a substantial, lifetime commitment to Everglades restoration.